Bernd-Michael Baier

Bernd-Michael Baier was born in Burg near Magdeburg and trained at the Theatre Academy “Hans Otto” in Leipzig. This was followed by engagements in Altenburg, Cottbus, Chemnitz, Baden-Baden, Magdeburg and Chemnitz once more, under the artistic direction of Enrico Lübbe.
Bernd-Michael Baier was a member of Schauspiel Leipzig’s acting company from 2013 to 2015 and he continues to work for the theatre as a guest actor.

He has worked with directors like Hasko Weber, Sascha Hawemann, Armin Petras, Herbert Olschok, Hartwig Albiro and Peter Konwitschny and played roles including Shylock in Willliam Shakespeare’s “The Merchant of Venice“ (Director: Axel Richter), Nathan in Lessing’s “Nathan der Weise (Nathan the Wise)“ (Director: Peter Lüdi), Odoardo Galotti in Lessing’s “Emilia Galotti“ (Director: Andreas Kriegenburg), Kreon in “Antigone“ by Sophocles (Director: Enrico Lübbe), Krause in Gerhart Hauptmann’s “Vor Sonnenaufgang (Before Sunrise)“ (Director: Jan Jochymski), Eduard in a stage adaptation of Goethe’s “Wahlverwandtschaften (Elective Affinities)” (Director: Karl-Georg Brenner). In 45 performances at Schauspiel Chemnitz, he and Tilo Krügel played Abby and Martha Brewster in “Arsen und Spitzenhäubchen (Arsenic and Old Lace)” (Director: Kay Neumann), as the  King in “Yvonne, die Burgunderprinzessin (Yvonne, Princess of Burgundy)” (Director: Mateja Koležnik) or as Shakespeare’s “Lear”, directed by Enrico Lübbe.

Between 1989 and 2013, Bernd-Michael Baier regularly led scene and monologue studies with students of Rostock University of Music and Drama and ’s Acting Academy and Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig “Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy”. He has also taught as a freelance teacher in Baden-Baden, Karlsruhe and Freiburg.

At Schauspiel Leipzig, Bernd-Michael Baier’s roles included Kreon in another production of “Antigone”, Tiger Brown in the “Dreigroschenoper (The Threepenny Opera)” in cooperation with Leipzig’s Gewandhausorchester, conducted by Anthony Bramall, or the Father in Grillparzer’s “Des Meeres und der Liebe Wellen“, directed by Mateja Koležnik. At the Residenz-venue, he developed the production “Life of N in a Nutshell“ together with the collective machina eX. 

Bernd-Michael Baier is a member of the “Kitsch und Krempel”-team and from May 2020, he will play the title role in “Vater (Father)”, directed by Tilo Krügel.



Dates:

https://www.schauspiel-leipzig.de Schauspiel Leipzig Bosestraße 1, 04109 Leipzig
Sun, 17.01. 20:00
Premiere
Diskothek

Productions

Bernd-Michael Baier

Bernd-Michael Baier wurde in Burg bei Magdeburg geboren und erhielt seine Ausbildung an der Theaterhochschule „Hans Otto“ in Leipzig. Danach folgten Engagements in Altenburg, Cottbus, Chemnitz, Baden-Baden, Magdeburg und wiederum Chemnitz, unter der Schauspieldirektion von Enrico Lübbe.
Von 2013 bis 2015 gehörte Bernd-Michael Baier fest zum Ensemble des Schauspiel Leipzig und blieb darüber hinaus als Gast dem Haus verbunden.

Er arbeitete unter der Regie von Hasko Weber, Sascha Hawemann, Armin Petras, Herbert Olschok, Hartwig Albiro und Peter Konwitschny und spielte Rollen wie u. a. den Shylock in William Shakespeares „Der Kaufmann von Venedig“ (Regie: Axel Richter), den Nathan in Lessings „Nathan der Weise“ (Regie: Peter Lüdi), Odoardo Galotti in Lessings „Emilia Galotti“ (Regie: Andreas Kriegenburg), den Kreon in Sophokles’ „Antigone“ (Regie: Enrico Lübbe), Krause in Gerhart Hauptmanns „Vor Sonnenaufgang“ (Regie: Jan Jochymski), Eduard in einer Bühnenadaption von Goethes „Wahlverwandtschaften“ (Regie: Karl-Georg Kayser), Briest in einer Bühnenadaption von Fontanes „Effi Briest“ (Regie: Matthias Brenner). In 45 Vorstellungen war er am Schauspiel Chemnitz gemeinsam mit Tilo Krügel als Abby und Martha Brewster in „Arsen und Spitzenhäubchen“ zu erleben (Regie: Kay Neumann), als König in „Yvonne, die Burgunderprinzessin“ (Regie: Mateja Koležnik) oder als Shakespeares „Lear“ in der Regie von Enrico Lübbe.

Von 1989 bis 2013 leitete Bernd-Michael Baier regelmäßig Szenen- und Monologstudien mit Studierenden der Schauspielschule Rostock und der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy“. Außerdem war er als freier Dozent in Baden-Baden, Karlsruhe und Freiburg tätig.

Am Schauspiel Leipzig war Bernd-Michael Baier u. a. erneut als Kreon in „Antigone“ zu sehen, als Tiger Brown in der „Dreigroschenoper“ in einer Kooperation mit dem Gewandhausorchester unter dem Dirigat von Anthony Bramall oder als Vater in Grillparzers „Des Meeres und der Liebe Wellen“ in der Regie von Mateja Koležnik. Mit der Gruppe machina eX erarbeitete er in der Residenz die Produktion „Life of N in a Nutshell“.

Bernd-Michael Baier gehört zum Team von „Kitsch und Krempel“ und spielt ab Mai 2020 die Titelrolle in „Vater“ in der Regie von Tilo Krügel.

Nächste Vorstellungen:

https://www.schauspiel-leipzig.de Schauspiel Leipzig Bosestraße 1, 04109 Leipzig
So, 17.01. 20:00
Premiere
Diskothek

Aktuell